Sign up Latest Topics Chat
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
Mind Phantom

Avatar / Picture

Honored Member
Registered:
Posts: 1,502
Reply with quote  #1 
Lately I've noticed that I am wasting too much time on the computer, time that could be spent on something useful or productive like learning a new trick from a book or on a new project ( Dr. Emoto water tests or a routine based on the Law of Attraction ).

How do you motivate yourselves to be more productive ?

Rick,

__________________
Self Concept Is Destiny...
0
SamtheNotasBadasIWas

Avatar / Picture

Inner Circle
Registered:
Posts: 403
Reply with quote  #2 
I think it is more about discipline than motivation, but I know I have to recharge my emotional batteries. I've been working pretty hard on my magic, maybe not last week because I had insomnia really bad last week, but I try to do something every night (I work 3rds and I usually have some free time). I think one of the ways to really recharge the emotional batteries is to do, or watch, magic with other people. A local magic theater just opened here and I got to go to my first live magic show Sat, and then I hung out with a bunch of magicians after the show. It was so much fun, that I can't wait to practice again. 
__________________
O' what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive! - Sir Walter Scott
0
Paco Nagata

Avatar / Picture

Inner Circle
Registered:
Posts: 400
Reply with quote  #3 
I couldn't agree more with Sam; performing and watching magic is the key of motivation. No matter how simple is the magic you perform or see, you will get immediately the motivation to improve and learn more.
Keep active.
It is something like doing exercise in the gym to keep fit; once you take the initiative you never stop...

__________________
"The Passion of an Amateur Card Magician" https://bit.ly/2lXdO2O
"La pasion de un cartómago aficionado" https://bit.ly/2kkjpjn
Latest erratum corrections and improvements update, 16/06/2020
0
Mind Phantom

Avatar / Picture

Honored Member
Registered:
Posts: 1,502
Reply with quote  #4 
Well guys I have about 4 different routines in my head that I am working on. One is right here in the Mentalist section of TMF titled Mind Control which is done using Bannon's ESP By The Numbers. 

I tend to keep routines in my head for a while, weeks and weeks until I come up with something...somebody said" being creative is just being unexpected"

Maybe a trip to the magic shop ( Misdirections in San Fran ) is in order here. 

Thanks a lot for chiming in...It really helps.

Rick,

__________________
Self Concept Is Destiny...
0
EVILDAN

Avatar / Picture

Honored Member
Registered:
Posts: 1,903
Reply with quote  #5 
About a month into this Covid quasi-quarantine I decided to do something productive. 
I put out a book earlier this year (January) and was working on another one. 
I channeled my efforts into finishing that. I did and that got published this year as well. 
So if nothing else, Covid helped me get my second book published. 

None of them are best sellers, but...
1. I'm a published author and
2. I am searchable on Amazon. 
(A third book is in the works as well.)

We weren't too sure if my wife and I were going to be working the haunted house this season. The governor gave the green light, so we're currently rehearsing that. 
Prior to that I dipped my foot into doing stand-up comedy - but the governor pulled the plug on live events in bars (no karaoke, open mic nights, no bands (only background music). 

I was also working on a small mentalism show that would be no touch. 

I love magic and creating - that's my motivation.


0
GregB

Avatar / Picture

Inner Circle
Registered:
Posts: 149
Reply with quote  #6 
Well Steve Faulkner from Real Magic Review just put out a video you might find rather helpful

0
RayJ

Avatar / Picture

Honored Member
Registered:
Posts: 4,006
Reply with quote  #7 
Good video!  I like Steve's reviews, he is pretty honest and straightforward.  


0
Chris Karim

Inner Circle
Registered:
Posts: 4
Reply with quote  #8 
Goal setting seems like a good topic here.  For some of the best feedback above, people went in with a specific goal (finishing a book, finalize a routine).

And, of course, any goal setting needs to be SMART. SMART is an acronym that stands for Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-based.  Goals that fall short of this are much less likely to be reached.

Once you have a goal with a deadline ("time-based"), perhaps with a reward/punishment for hitting the deadline, progress is much more natural and motivated. 

I'm not sure how I feel with the comparison/conflation between discipline and motivation that popped up though.  Rote practice (born of discipline alone) is usually considered one of the worst ways to practice something.  Meaningful, focused practice is usually *but not always* considered to be superior.  For readers of Malcolm Gladwell, they know that it isn't 10,000 hours of practice, it is, quite specifically, focused, appropriately guided practice as rote practice doesn't count (that's not me, it's him).

To be fair, the authors of the original study that 10,000 hrs was based on disputed some of Gladwell's conclusions and interpretations.
0
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation:

Easily create a Forum Website with Website Toolbox.